Initiated in 1980 and awarded for the best historical article in the past year for a "pre-500 B.C." topic. 

Note: Up to and including 2008, the Charles Grant Prize included the entire B.C. period. In 2009 the Phil Barker Prize was introduced to cover the period 500-1BC.




Slingshot Issue

2018 Not Awarded    
2017 Ian Russell Lowell Chariot warfare 309
2012 Alastair MacBeath Transjordan Tales 284 onwards
2011  Ian Russell Lowell Kadesh from Egyptian and Hittite records 275